Captain Pat O'Connor, Lieutenant Duncan Macleod and Doctor Simon Ferguson return from half-pay to command the frigate HMS Surprise, returned to service after long years 'in ordinary' at Plymouth Dock.

HMS Surprise escorts Lord Byron to Cephalonia and then aids the fledgling Greek navy against the crushing Ottoman fleet superiority. Fighting for the cause of Greek independence amidst the destruction and massacres of the sackings of Kasos and Psara, this fictional tale is based on the actual historical events of 1823 and 1824.

Struggling to retain their sanity and humanity as initial jubilation with their return to sea is replaced by doubt and anxiety as crew losses mount, O'Connor, Macleod and Ferguson bring HMS Surprise to action in the thrilling and climactic battle to defend Samos from Turk invasion.


Author: Alan Lawrence

Title: The Massacre of Innocents

Series: The Continuing Voyages of HMS Surprise

First Published by: Mainsail Voyages Press


Format: HC

Date: 1 June 2014

ISBN-10: 0957669801

ISBN-13: 9780957669802




© 2008-2023 David Hayes (Astrodene)