Battle of CamperdownThe Battle of the Camperdown (Kamperduin) took place on the 11th October 1797 off the Dutch coast.

The Royal Navy, under the command of Admiral Adam Duncan with 24 ships defeated a Dutch fleet of 25 ships under the command of Admiral Jan Willem de Winter.


The British attacked in two columns with Duncan leading one line in Venerable and Vice-Admiral Richard Onslow leading the other in Monarch. The British attacked quickly to prevent the Dutch ships from reaching the protection of shallow waters near the coast. Venerable broke through the Dutch line and engaged de Winter's flagship, Vrijheid and several other British ships broke through as well. After a close action several Dutch ships managed to flee east; 11 were captured including the flagship, Vrijheid, but the British ships were too damaged to pursue.

British casualties were 220 killed and 812 wounded; Dutch casualties were 540 killed and 620 wounded. Admiral de Winter, taken prisoner when his flagship, dismasted and with over half her crew killed or wounded, struck attempted to hand his sword to Duncan who refused and shook his hand instead.

Novels based around this battle.

  Ships Guns Captain Ships fate
British Fleet - Windward Division    
UK Triumph 74 William Essington  
UK Venerable 74 Flag - Admiral Adam Duncan
Cptn. - William Fairfax
UK Ardent 64 Richard Burges (Killed in Action)  
UK Bedford 74 Thomas Byard  
UK Lancaster 64 John Wells  
UK Belliqueux 64 John Inglis  
UK Adamant 50 William Hotham  
UK Isis 50 William Mitchell  
UK Circe 28 Peter Halkett  
British Fleet - Leeward Division    
UK Russell 74 Henry Trollope  
UK Director 64 William Bligh  
UK Montagu 74 John Knight  
UK Veteran 64 George Gregory  
UK Monarch 74 Flag - Vice-Admiral Richard Onslow
Cptn. - Edward O'Brien
UK Powerful 74 William Drury  
UK Monmouth 64 James Walker  
UK Agincourt 64 John Williamson  
UK Beaulieu 40 Francis Fayerman  
Dutch Fleet - Line of Battle      
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Gelijkheid 68 Cdr. H. A. Ruijsch UK Captured 
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Beschermer 56 Cptn. Hinxt (Killed in Action)  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Hercules 64 Cdr. Rijsoort UK Caught fire & captured
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Tjerk Hiddes De Vries 68 Cptn. J. B. Zegers UK Captured 
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Vrijheid 74 Flag - Admiral Jan Willem de Winter
Cdr. - L. W. van Rossum (Killed in Action)
UK Captured
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Staten-Generaal 74 Flag - Rear-Admiral Samuel Story
Cptn. - ?
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Wassenaar 64 Cdr. A. Holland (Killed in Action) UK Captured 
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Batavier 56 Cdr. Souter  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag  Brutus 74 Flag - Rear-Admiral Bloys van Treslong
Commodore Polders
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Leijden 68 Cdr. J. D. Musquetier  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Mars 44 Cdr. J. H. Kloff  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Cerberus  68 Cdr. Jacobsen  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Jupiter 72 Flag - Vice-Admiral Reyntjes
Cptn. - ?
UK Captured
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Haarlem 68 Cptn. O. Wiggerts UK Captured
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Alkmaar 56 Cptn. J. W. Krafft UK Captured 
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Delft 54 Cptn. G. Verdooren UK Captured. Sank on 14th
British Fleet - Also Present      
UK Martin 16 Cdr. Charles Paget   
UK Active 12 Lt. J. Hamilton  
UK Diligent 12 Lt. T. Dawson  
UK King George 12 Lt. James Rains  
UK Rose 10 Lt. Joseph Brodie  
UK Speculator 8 Lt. H. Hales  
Dutch Fleet - Frigate Line      
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Atalante 18 Cdr. B. Pletsz  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Heldin 32 Cdr. Dumenil de Lestrille  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Galathée 18 Cdr. Riverij UK Captured 
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Minerva 24 Cdr. Eijlbrecht  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Ajax 18 Lt. Arkenbout  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Waakzaamheid 24 Cdr. Meindert Van Mierop  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Ambuscade 36 Cdr. J. Huijs UK Captured, aground and recaptured later
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Daphne 18 Lt. Frederiks  
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Monnikendam 44 Cdr. Thomas Lancester UK Captured & wrecked
Fleets_Netherlands_Flag Haasje 6 Lt. Hartingveld  




© 2008-2023 David Hayes (Astrodene)