Distant Gunfire: The Fifth Nathaniel Drinkwater OmnibusThis book is a compendium of 2 individual novels and 2 short stories by Richard Woodman:

'The Shadow of the Eagle' - 1814: Napoleon has abdicated and the 'Great War' is at an end. As King Louis XVIII is escorted back to France by an Allied squadron, tensions remain. Attending King Louis, Captain Nathaniel Drinkwater receives secret intelligence of an imminent threat to peace and risks his life and reputation to prevent disaster befalling his country. 'Ebb Tide' - 1843: Captain Sir Nathaniel Drinkwater has been drawn out of retirement to inspect lighthouses on the west coast of England. However, tragedy strikes, and Drinkwater is suddenly confronted with the spectre of his past life: the sins and follies, valour and heroics, triumphs and disasters. Plus 'The Steeple Rock' and 'The Night Attack' - two short stories of Nathaniel Drinkwater's youthful exploits which, with a valediction, On Nathanial Drinkwater, specially written by prize-winning author Richard Woodman, concludes the history of this popular sea-hero.

Author: Richard Woodman

Title: Distant Gunfire: The Fifth Nathaniel Drinkwater Omnibus

Series: Nathaniel Drinkwater

First Published by: Time Warner


Format: PB

Date: 2003

ISBN-10: 0751532673

ISBN-13: 9780751532678


© 2008-2024 David Hayes (Astrodene)