Crimson Seas is the first novel in Derek Gunn's supernatural HMS Swift Adventures series. It is preceded by The Diabolical Plan and The Island. This series combines action on the high seas with the lesser known history of the emerging world. It is a time for exploration and great discovery but it is also a time when horrors and dark forces that have lain dormant in the world begin to wake.

The year is 1791. It is a time of turbulent and fragile peace between the American Revolution, the looming French Revolution and the threat of Napoleon's growing empire.

Captain Thomas Butler and his crew of the HMS Swift, a Class five Frigate in the service of King George III of England arrive into port expecting a few months of rest while their ship is repaired and refitted. Immediately upon their return however, they are sent on a mission to investigate pirate-related reports affecting the lucrative trade routes to the East Indies. The mission is a confusing one though. Their orders are suspiciously vague. The threat of piracy has not been felt for many years. Two ships have gone missing already in the area though it is inconceivable that mere pirates could have over-run a King's ship.

Butler and his crew find a seemingly abandoned merchant ship drifting at sea and discover the crew gutted and discarded in the hold. Their blood is smeared liberally throughout the ship forming strange and disturbing signals that suggest devil worshiping.

As war looms and navies engage in heated, yet still sporadic engagements, it is left to the crew of the HMS Swift to face and defeat an evil that now threatens to engulf the whole world.

Crimson Seas

Author: Derek Gunn

Title: Crimson Seas

Series: The HMS Swift Adventures

First Published by: Aldergun Books


Format: Kindle

Date: 21 August 2012




Purchase via Omnibus version


© 2008-2024 David Hayes (Astrodene)