Cyril Abraham ( -1979) created The Onedin Line, a BBC television drama series that ran from 1971 to 1980. The series was set in Liverpool from 1860 to 1886 and deals with the rise of a shipping line.

He subsequently wrote a series of novels based on the television series.

AOS Other Nautical Fiction

Series: The Onedin Line


 Book  Comment
1860 The Shipmaster The heyday of the great windjammers and clippers is waning but James Onedin is an opportunist.
  The Iron Ships James Onedin is safely established in the shipping world. Now he can concentrate on his ambitious plan.
  The High Seas A public company has been launched for the construction of the first steamship of the Onedin Line
  The Trade Winds Hard hit by the sudden tragic death of his wife, James Onedin has abandoned himself to his work
  The White Ships (Plot description not available)
  The Turning Tide (book 6 is by a different author - Bruce Stewart)

Modern Era Naval Fiction

Series: n/a


 Book  Comment
WWII The Blazing Ocean Cunning and seamanship got the Kentucky Minstrel out of Oran while the Royal Navy pounded the French fleet.


© 2008-2023 David Hayes (Astrodene)