James L. Nelson

James L. Nelson was born and raised in Lewiston, Maine and graduated from UCLA with a degree in motion picture/television production. Finding that despite being in Southern California, it was a damp, drizzly November in his soul, Jim took the cure Melville recommended and decided to sail about a little and see the watery part of the world. For six years he worked on board traditional sailing ships before he turned thirty and realised it would be easier to write about sailing rather than actually doing it. His career as a writer began in 1994 and he has since written works of maritime fiction and history. He is the winner or the American Library Association/William Young Boyd Award and the Naval Order's Samuel Eliot Morison Award. Nelson has lectured all over the country and appeared on the Discovery Channel, History Channel and BookTV. He currently lives in Harpswell, Maine, with his former shipmate, now wife Lisa and their four children.

He has written three historic naval fiction series and is also the writer of non-fiction books about early American naval activities.

The Revolution at Sea Saga is about Isaac Biddlecomb. It starts in 1775 with Biddlecomb as a merchant captain, but the American War of Independance sees him in the fledgling US Navy.

The Brethren of the Coast trilogy is about Thomas Marlowe, an American Privateer in the early years of the colonies.

The Samuel Bowater series is about the Confederate Navy and the age of early steam iron warships during the American Civil War. 

Series: Revolution at Sea Saga (Isaac Biddlecomb)
Year  Book  Comment
1775  By Force of Arms  Biddlecomb is captured by a mad English captain 
1775 The Maddest Idea  Biddlecomb is sent in search of gunpowder 
1776 The Continental Risque  In command of the brig-of-war Charlemagne Biddlecomb heads for Bermuda 
1776 Lords of the Ocean   Biddlecomb must transport Dr Benjamin Franklin to France
1777 All the Brave Fellows  Biddlecomb must rescue the new frigate Falmouth
1777 The Falmouth Frigate Biddlecomb is trapped in a desolate harbor
  The French Prize Isaac's son finds himself taking command of the merchant vessel Abigail bound for Barbados
Series: The Brethren of the Coast trilogy (Thomas Marlowe)
Year  Book  Comment
1701 The Guardship  Marlowe an ex-pirate is given command of the Virginia colony's guardship 
1702  The Blackbirder  Marlowe must go after an old friend who slaughtered a slave ship's crew. 
1706  The Pirate Round  Marlowe heads for the Indian Ocean 
Series: Samuel Bowater
Year  Book  Comment
1861  Glory in the Name Lt. Samuel Bowater USN, a native of Charleston SC, accepts a commission in the nascent Confederate Navy,
1862  Thieves of Mercy  Having survived the bloody Battle of New Orleans Bowater has orders to take command of an ironclad warship being built in Memphis 

AOS Naval Non Fiction

Series: n/a
Year  Book  Comment
  Benedict Arnold's Navy The Ragtag Fleet that Lost the Battle of Lake Champlain But Won the American Revolution
  George Washington's Secret Navy How the American Revolution Went to Sea
  George Washington's Great Gamble And the Sea Battle That Won the American Revolution
  Reign of Iron The Story of the First Battling Ironclads, the Monitor and the Merrimack

AOS Pirate Fiction

Series: n/a
Year  Book  Comment
  The Only Life That Mattered The Short and Merry Lives of Anne Bonny, Mary Read, and Calico Jack Rackam
Series: Blood, Steel, and Empire
Year  Book  Comment
  The Buccaneer Coast When a deadly hurricane sweeps through the Caribbean, it up-ends the buccaneers’ rough existence

 The author’s official web site is jameslnelson.com

© 2008-2024 David Hayes (Astrodene)