Alan Gould

Alan Gould, born in London in 1949, is a contemporary Australian novelist and poet. His family lived in Northern Ireland, Germany and Singapore before arriving in Australia in 1966. He completed a BA at Australian National University and a Diploma of Education at the then Canberra College of Advanced Education. Having worked as a nuclear physics technician and agricultural labourer he began writing full time in 1973, occasionally teaching and writing journalism.

His work has been awarded the Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry (1981), the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies Best Book of the Year Award (1985), the National Book Council Banjo Award for Fiction (1992), the Royal Blind Society Audio Book of the Year Award (1999), The Philip Hodgins Memorial Award for contribution to Australian Literature (1999), and The Grace Leven Award For Poetry (2006).

AOS Other Nautical Fiction

Series: n/a
Year  Book  Comment
1913 The Man Who Stayed Below Johnny Boult joins the wool-clipper Emilia Denholm in Melbourne as it sails for London


© 2008-2024 David Hayes (Astrodene)