David DonachieDavid Donachie (1944- ) was born in Edinburgh and has had a variety of jobs, including selling everything from business machines to soap. He has always had an abiding interest in the naval history of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuriesand now lives in Deal, Kent. He has written three historical naval fiction series (he has also writen a Royal Marine series under the pen name Tom Connery).

The first series, The Privateersman Mysteries, is about Harry Ludlow. It starts in 1792 and features the adventures of a former navy Captain turned privateer and his brother.

The second is about John Pearce. It starts in 1793 and follows the son of a radical taken by a press gang who is soon made an officer but shows no deference to his superiors

The third, The Nelson and Emma Trilogy, is, as the name indicates, about the lives of Horatio Nelson and Emma Hamilton.

Series: John Pearce
Year Book Comment
1793 By the Mast Divided John Pearce is taken by the press gang and serves aboard HMS Brilliant
1793 A Shot Rolling Ship Impressed again and now aboard HMS Griifin Pearce is soon promoted to Midshipman and then Lieutenant
1793 An Awkward Commission Pearce is sent to Admiral Hood with dispatches and is sent ashore in Toulon to see if they will join the British
1793 A Flag of Truce As first Lieutenant of HMS Faron Pearce escorts French ships back to the Atlantic
1793 The Admirals’ Game Pearce continues his fight to get his former captain before a court martial
1793 An Ill Wind Pearce must assist with the evacuation of Toulon
  Blown off Course Pearce is in London seeking protection for his friends, the Pelicans, from a reluctant Admiralty.
  Enemies at Every Turn Pearce is not free from the smugglers whose boat he stole, they want bloody revenge
1794 A Sea of Troubles Pearce finds himself aboard HMS Agamemnon, and impresses Horatio Nelson
1794 A Divided Command Pearce must save Emily from a superior force of Barbary Corsairs
  The Devil to Pay Pearce faces a ship in need of repair, enemy attacks and Admiral Hotham
  The Perils of Command Pearce discovers two facts that should change his life
1795 A Treacherous Coast Pearce is faced with immense danger, not only from the enemy but his own captain
  On a Particular Service Pearce has to avoid capture by an Algerine warship
Series: The Nelson and Emma Trilogy**
Year Book Comment
  On a Making Tide Part One of a trilogy that chronicles the private lives and dangerous times of Nelson and his legendary mistress.
1784 Tested by Fate Part Two of a trilogy that chronicles the private lives and dangerous times of Nelson and his legendary mistress.
1799 Breaking the Line Part Three  of a trilogy that chronicles the private lives and dangerous times of Nelson and his legendary mistress.

** Important Note: In the UK this series was published in 2 volumes 'On a Making Tide' and 'Breaking the Line'. As titles are the same in both series you should take care not to mix them.

AOS Privateer Fiction

Series: The Privateersman Mysteries (Harry Ludlow)
Year Book Comment
1792 The Devils own Luck Investigates a murder
1794 The Dying Trade A captain commits suicide in Genoa, or did he?
1794 A Hanging Matter Smugglers become a problem
  An Element of Chance Ludlow joins the struggle for the richest trade in the world
1795 The Scent of Betrayal An adventure in New Orleans
1796 A Game of Bones Harry becomes involved with a mutiny

Written as Tom Connery

Series: Markham of the Marines
Year Book Comment
1793 A Shred of Honour  As an Irishman, a Catholic, and a reputed Coward, Lt. George Markham is a Marine with something to prove
1794  Honour Redeemed  George Markham leads his embattled Royal Marines against the French in Corsica. 
1794 Honour be Damned  Markham must go ashore to escort a group of French Royalists on a secret mission 

Link to forum for this author

© 2008-2023 David Hayes (Astrodene)