The Darkest Shade of HonorThis eighth novel of the Honor Series begins with Commander Peter Wake, of the U.S. Navy's Office of Naval Intelligence, at New York City in 1886, where he meets two intense young men who will dramatically influence his life: Theodore Roosevelt and José Martí. Presented with a secret coded message, he deciphers it for Roosevelt, and soon wishes he hadn't.

Returning to Washington, he is assigned to follow up on the secret message and uncover the extent of Cuban revolutionary activities between Florida and Cuba, along with investigating rumors of Spanish government agents operating in Key West. Most of all, this is to be accomplished quietly, to prevent international embarrassment for newly elected President Grover Cleveland, the first Democrat in the White House in 25 years.

The investigation takes Wake to places he thought he knew so well: Havana, Key West, Tampa, and the islands of Florida's southwest coast. But the further he delves, the more he realizes how much he doesn't know, and is drawn inexorably into the center of the most catastrophic event in Key West history, when over half the city was destroyed.

And in the end, Peter Wake makes a decision that may well shock his readers-one involving the very darkest shade of honor.

Author: Robert N. Macomber

Title: The Darkest Shade of Honor

Series: Honor (Peter Wake)

First Published by: Pineapple Press


Format: HC

Date: 15 Mar 2010

ISBN-10: 156164465X

ISBN-13: 9781561644650


© 2008-2024 David Hayes (Astrodene)